New Eden, Page 19: The Calm Before the Storm

New Eden Page 19

So, the game in New Eden, this virtual reality everyone’s a part of, is pretty much a virtual reality MMORPG with a bit of Minecraft mixed in.  I’ve probably spent less than 10 hours playing traditional MMORPGs in my life, total.  And I kind of like the creative process that why.  I’m probably not going to create something that’s immediately recognizable, given my inexperience with the medium, but as a result, the setting, or at least this game, will be a lot more unique than if I tried to make a generic MMORPG with complete knowledge of the form, and hopefully, more interesting because of it.

I’ve got a lot of experience with MUDs, text-based MMO-style adventures, and that’s what I’ve largely been basing the game off of.  I have no idea if most MMORPGs will let you pull up a list of currently online players, like LadyHate mentioned last post, but that was a pretty common feature to MUDs, so in it goes.

Transcript

Panel 1

LadyHate: Agla?

LadyHate: Run?

LadyHate: What happened to Annie?

Panel 2

LadyHate: What the…?

LadyHate: Rain?

Panel 3

LadyHate: It’s never rained in-game before.

Panel 4

LadyHate: Clouds, too?

LadyHate: Annie, are you…

LadyHate:!!

First Page

Previous Page

Next Page

2 responses to “New Eden, Page 19: The Calm Before the Storm

  1. Most MMORPGs to me at least follow the same path. Which in that world is World of Warcraft. Which is a shame, everything either fails, or is good but nothing really new.

    I don’t have much experience with MUDs, but take what you know from that and mash it with a traditional MMO. I’m sure both worlds could learn from each other.

Leave a Reply

